

'NOTICE' FOR INVITING NOMINATIONS FOR THE ELECTION OF FIVE IIA REPRESENTATIVES TO THE COUNCIL OF ARCHITECTURE (2023 – 2026)

29.11.2023

As per the communication received from the, Ministry of Education Department of Higher Education, Government of India, it is directed that Election of five Architects of The Indian Institute of Architects to the Council of Architecture in terms of clause (a), sub-clause (3) under Section of Architect Act, 1972, is to be conducted by The Indian Institute of Architects for the Institute's five representatives on Council of Architecture for a term of 3 years (2023-2026).

The Election for the five representatives of IIA on Council of Architecture is to be conducted to elect one representative from each of the 5 geographical regions*. Consequently, each member from the said geographical region shall have one vote. Members of the Council of Architecture shall be eligible for re-election, but not exceeding three consecutive terms.

IIA Members who wish to nominate as the Institute's representative from their geographical regions* to the Council of Architecture, shall download the enclosed nomination form and send the duly completed scanned copy latest by 5.00 p.m. on 04th December, 2023 by email mentioning in the subject as "Nomination for IIA Representative to COA-2023-2026" to the following email address:

coa.iia.election.2023@gmail.com

Nominations will be considered only if the Nominee, his Proposer and his Seconder have paid IIA membership Subscription upto the year 2026-27/Lifetime. The Nominee, Proposer & Seconder should be members of IIA in the respective Region. If the number of nominations received exceeds one for any of the Five Regions*, Elections will be conducted for such regions as per the Schedule published already and uploaded on the IIA website.

* IIA- 5 Geographical Regions are as under: -

Northern Region: Delhi, Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh, Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

Central Region: Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Union Territory Daman-Diu, Dadra Nagar – Haveli.

Eastern Region: Bihar & Jharkhand, Orissa, Assam, West Bengal, Tripura, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Andaman – Nicobar Islands.

Western Region: Goa and Maharashtra.

Southern Region: Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Puducherry and Lakshadweep Islands.

Jt. Hon. Secretaries
The Indian Institute of Architects.